Log In

Bayelsa Election: INEC Presents Certificate To PDP Candidate As Supreme Court Sacks APC’s Lyon Pereworimin,

Unic Press UK: In a unanimous decision, a 5-person panel of the Justices of the Supreme Court (JSC) of Nigeria led by Justice Mary Peter-Odili sacked yesterday the hitherto governor-elect of Bayelsa State, Lyon David Pereworimin.

Pereworimin, who was initially declared winner of the 2019 Bayelsa State Gubernatorial Election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), was sacked less than twenty fours to his inauguration ceremony.

In this case between the Appellants [People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Douye Diri (PDP governorship candidate), Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo (PDP deputy governorship candidate)] and the Respondents [Biobarakuma Degi-Eremienyo (APC deputy governorship candidate), Lyon David Pereworimin (APC governorship candidate), All Progressives Congress, and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)], the 5-person JSCs – Mary Peter-Odili, Olukayode Ariwoola, John Inyang Okoro, Amina Adamu Augie, and Ejembi Eko – set aside the judgment of the lower court delivered on 23 December 2019, and reinstated the judgment of the Trial Court delivered on 12 November 2019.

Excerpts from the judgement of a 5-person panel of JSCs led by Hon. Justice Mary Peter-Odili yesterday reads:

  • “…the joint ticket of the 1st and 2nd respondents sponsored by the 3rd respondent was vitiated by the disqualification of the 1st respondent.”
  • “… both candidates disqualified be and are hereby deemed not to be candidates at the Governorship Election conducted in Bayelsa State.”

The Supreme Court further ordered that the INEC should declare as winner of the Bayelsa State Governorship Election the candidate with the highest number of lawful votes cast and with the requisite constitutional (or geographical) spread; withdraw the Certificate of Return it had issued to Lyon David Pereworimin and Biobarakuma Degi-Eremienyo; and give a fresh certificate to the candidate with the highest number of lawful votes cast and with the requisite constitutional (or geographical) spread.

The INEC today complied with the Supreme Court order. The electoral body declared the PDP governorship candidate Douye Diri winner of the Bayelsa State Gubernatorial Election.



Tagged under

Leave a Reply

English Premier league table (live)

# Team MP W D L F A G P
1 Leicester City 3 3 0 0 12 4 +8 9
2 Everton 3 3 0 0 8 3 +5 9
3 Arsenal 2 2 0 0 5 1 +4 6
4 Liverpool 2 2 0 0 6 3 +3 6
5 Crystal Palace 3 2 0 1 5 3 +2 6
6 Leeds United 3 2 0 1 8 7 +1 6
7 Tottenham Hotspur 3 1 1 1 6 4 +2 4