Log In

Presidential Election Petition: PDP Says Judge Zainab Bulkachuwa Should Recuse Herself

Unic Press UK: The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has reacted to a press statement, in which, the ruling party All Progressives Congress (APC) accused the opposition of making allegations of corruption against the Appeal Court president Judge Zainab Bulkachuwa.

“Nevertheless, the PDP restates our demand for Justice Bulkachuwa to recuse herself from the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal, following the manifest bias in her opening address: ”that no matter how well the election is conducted, there are bound to be complaints,”” the PDP press statement Sunday reads.

The PDP also called into question the possibility of impartiality on the part of the Appeal Court judge, Zainab Bulkachuwa, saying: “This is in addition to the fact that her husband, Hon. Adamu Mohammed Bulkachuwa, is a front-line leader of the APC, which is a party in our case before the tribunal.”

The Justices of the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal 2019 are:

  1. Justice Zanaib Bulkachuwa – the President of the Court of Appeal and the Tribunal Chairperson.
  2. Justice Abdul Aboki.
  3. Justice Peter Ige.
  4. Justice Joseph Ikyegh.
  5. 5.Justice Samuel Oseji.

It was on Saturday that the Senior Special Assistant to the President for Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu issued a press statement saying: “PDP to stop dragging the presidency into their current sponsored media smear campaign against the President of the Court of Appeal, Justice Zainab Bulkachuwa. Reports claiming that an agency of the government, the Department of State Services, DSS has indicted Bulkachuwa of corruption are the latest of this sponsored campaign aimed at causing disaffection between the Executive and the Judiciary, the two arms of government that had operated smoothly under the present dispensation. If the presidency had any influence on election petition tribunals.”

Please follow and like us:
Tagged under

Leave a Reply

English Premier league table (live)

# Team MP W D L F A G P
1 Liverpool 29 27 1 1 66 21 +45 82
2 Manchester City 28 18 3 7 68 31 +37 57
3 Leicester City 29 16 5 8 58 28 +30 53
4 Chelsea 29 14 6 9 51 39 +12 48
5 Manchester United 29 12 9 8 44 30 +14 45
6 Wolverhampton Wanderers 29 10 13 6 41 34 +7 43
7 Sheffield United 28 11 10 7 30 25 +5 43