Log In

Boxing: Floyd Mayweather Jr. vs. Conor McGregor

Unic Press UK: Boxing legend Floyd Mayweather, 40-years-old, will fight Conor McGregor, 29-years-old in Las Vegas, United States.

  • Date: Saturday, 26 August (local)
  • Venue: T-Mobile Arena, 3780 South Las Vegas Blvd. Las Vegas, NV 89158, United States
  • Estimated Time [updated]: 21:00 hrs PT, or 00:00 hrs Eastern Time, or Sunday at 05:00 hrs BST. This fight was scheduled to begin at 4:00 hrs BST, but delayed as a result of under-card fights.
Floyd Mayweather Jr (L) and Conor McGregor

Floyd Mayweather Jr (L) and Conor McGregor

Mayweather retired in 2015. He stands undefeated having won all 49 fights over a career spanning 20 years’. Bookies predict that he will win this fight against a McGregor, who has yet to engage in a professional boxing match against any experienced boxer.

In an interview, Mayweather said that McGregor will not reach the final round.

“Weight doesn’t win fights, fighting wins fights. It won’t go the distance, mark my words. This will be Conor McGregor’s last fight also,” Mayweather said.

In his comments after the pre-fight weigh-in in Las Vegas, McGregor said that his opponent Mayweather was in a bad shape, full of water.

“He looks blown out, full of water. That’s the worst shape I’ve ever seen him in. I am going to breeze through him, trust me.” (McGregor: 25 August 2017)

This is Mayweather’s 50th fight. A win against McGregor will set him ahead of Rocky Marciano’s 49-fight win/record.

The Money Belt

BBC: “It is a huge boxing fight so there must be some belts on the line then? Well, not officially as Mayweather has not fought in two years and McGregor has not boxed professionally. Ever. So the World Boxing Council decided to make up this ‘Money Belt’. It is an incredible piece of work as well. The belt is made of crocodile leather, has 1.5kg of 24 kt gold, 3,360 diamonds, 600 sapphires and 160 emeralds.”

The Money Belt

The Money Belt

Tagged under

Leave a Reply