Log In

Manchester City Won Premier League 2018/19 Edition

Unic Press UK: Manchester City FC won the Premier League 2018/19 Edition with ninety-eight points as the battle for the title ended today with each of the twenty Premier League teams having played thirty-eight matches. It’s a back to back title for Man City, a great team that also won the 2017/18 edition.

Manchester City is 1st with 98 points. Liverpool is 2nd with 97 points, and Chelsea 3rd with 72 points. Man City’s 2017/18 record of 100 points is still the highest top-flight total in English football history.

Pep Guardiola, the Man City manager said: “To win the title we had to win 14 games in a row. This was the toughest title in all my career, by far. I have to say congratulations to Liverpool of course, thank you so much. To compete against this team pushed us to do what we have done.” 

“Guardiola won three La Liga titles in a row in his first three years in charge at Barcelona and three consecutive Bundesliga titles in his three seasons at Bayern Munich before joining City,” the BBC wrote

About the English Premier League

The 2018/19 season marks the 27th of the Premier League after its formation in 1992.

Premier LeagueIn the opening season of 1992/93, 22 clubs competed in the competition, with Brian Deane of Sheffield United scoring the first goal in what was known at the time as the FA Premier League.

“The inaugural members of the Premier League were: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Everton, Ipswich Town, Leeds United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield Utd, Sheffield Wednesday, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur, and Wimbledon.

“Manchester United were the first winners of the competition. . .

“The most successful manager in the competition is Sir Alex Ferguson who has guided Manchester United to all their Premier League successes. He also holds the record for being the longest serving manager in the Premier League, spending 21 years at Old Trafford since its inception in 1992 before retiring at the end of the 2012/13 season.

“Ryan Giggs participated in every title-winning year for Manchester United and the Welshman amassed 632 appearances, behind only Gareth Barry for Premier League appearances.

“Former Newcastle United, Blackburn Rovers and Southampton forward Alan Shearer is the Premier League top scorer with 260 goals and is one of only two players to surpass the 200 mark – along with Wayne Rooney.

Please follow and like us:
Tagged under

Leave a Reply

English Premier league table (live)

# Team MP W D L F A G P
1 Liverpool 33 29 2 2 72 25 +47 89
2 Manchester City 33 21 3 9 81 34 +47 66
3 Leicester City 33 17 7 9 63 31 +32 58
4 Chelsea 33 17 6 10 60 44 +16 57
5 Manchester United 33 15 10 8 56 33 +23 55
6 Wolverhampton Wanderers 33 13 13 7 45 36 +9 52
7 Arsenal 33 12 13 8 49 41 +8 49