Log In

Voter Population 84.2M, Fingerprint System To Weed Out Multiple Registrations: INEC

Unic Press UK: The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) of Nigeria says an Automatic Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) would be deployed to weed out multiple registration.

The INEC chairman Mahmood Yakubu made the disclosure last week, Thursday, at the headquarters of the Commission in Abuja, during his quarterly consultative meeting with Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs), saying that the current figure of registered voters may drop when an Automatic Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) is used to remove all cases of multiple registration.

Mahmood Yakubu

Mahmood Yakubu

The Commission’s chairman added that 84,271,832 is the current figure of registered voters, saying: “As you are aware, the Commission concluded the current phase of the nationwide CVR exercise last week. For a period of 16 months, from 27th April 2017 to 31st August 2018, the exercise was conducted continuously in all the states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) as envisaged by the Electoral Act. At the end of the exercise, a total of 14,551,482 new voters were registered. If this figure is added to the existing register of 69,720,350 voters, it means that the nation now has a voter population of 84,271,832”.

Nigeria’s 2019 General Elections will hold on Saturday, the 16 February 2019, at 08:00 hrs (GMT+1).

There are 91 political parties in Nigeria. But the notable presidential aspirants seems to be:

  • Muhammadu Buhari, a former military Head of State and the current President of Nigeria.
  • Atiku Abubakar, a former Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Atiku is one of the hitherto chieftains of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who decamped.
  • Martin Onovo, a consulting engineer, who studied in the United States and Nigeria. He has been endorsed by the Conference of Nigeria Political Parties (CNPP), who also named him the “Face of the New Nigeria”. The Movement For Fundamental Change [MFC] and Secure our Votes Nigeria [SOV Nigeria] also endorsed Onovo.
  • Bukola Saraki, the Senate President of Nigeria, and a former Governor of Kwara state.
  • Sule Lamido, a former governor of Jigawa state and a former Minister of Foreign Affairs.
  • Rabiu Kwankwaso, the former governor of Kano state. Kwankwaso is one of the Senators, who recently decamped from the APC.
  • Donald Duke, a former governor of Cross River state.
  • Aminu Tambuwal, the Sokoto state governor.
  • Kingsley Moghalu, a political economist and a former Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria.
  • Omoyele Sowore, a popular online publisher and the founder of Sahara Reporters.


Please follow and like us:
Tagged under

Leave a Reply

English Premier league table (live)

Updated soccer information here. Now downloading information from the football info feed.